7 Generations: A Plains Cree Saga

7 Generations: A Plains Cree Saga 

Written by David Alexander Robertson and Illustrated by Scott B. Henderson 

Published in 2012 by Highwater Press (Links to an external site.). 


7 Generations: A Plains Cree Saga is a graphic novel series divided into 4 separate books: StoneScarsEnds/Begins, and The Pact. Each book weaves together two distinct plotlines, the past and the present, to explore one Plain’s Cree family’s history over 3 centuries and 7 generations. 

 As the series opens, we meet Edwin and learn of his recent suicide attempt. In the hospital, his mother begins to tell him the story of his family’s history as a way of helping Edwin understand that “Our past has shaped us all. You, me…all of us.” Stories of past and present become interwoven across all 4 books as Edwin learns of his family’s history and begins his journey toward healing. 


Introducing the Author and Illustrator: 

Visit David A. Robertson’s bio page (Links to an external site.). 

Visit Scott Henderson’s website (Links to an external site.) and illustrator bio page (Links to an external site.). 


Learning More About the Book: 

Watch the book trailer (Links to an external site.) for 7 Generations: A Plains Cree Saga. 

Watch this interview with David Robertson (Links to an external site.) about the process of creating the series. 

Explore the Teacher’s Guide (Links to an external site.) for the series.  



Developing Background Knowledge: 

Educators who would like to know more about residential schools in Canada can start with these sources. 

Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (Links to an external site.) 

Residential Schools in Canada Education Guide (Links to an external site.) 

National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (University of Manitoba) (Links to an external site.) 


Comments are closed.